Australian Consulate-General
Shanghai, China
Consulate-General Address: Level 22, Citic Square, 1168 Nanjing West Road, Shanghai - Telephone: 2215 5200 (DFAT), 2225 1300 (DIBP-Visas & Immigration) - Fax: 2215 5252 (DFAT) 2225 1199 (Visa & Immigration)

About the Australian Consulate-General Shanghai, China

Consul General

Ms Alice Cawte

Alice Cawte is a career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). Overseas, she has served in Beijing and Noumea, and was Representative of the Australian Commerce and Industry Office, Taiwan from 2008-2011.

Ms Cawte holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of Sydney and is married with two children.

Contact information

Australian Embassy and Consulates

Visa, Immigration and Citizenship Enquiries

Level 31 CITIC Square
1168 Nanjing Road West, 200041

Tel: (021) 2225 1300 
Fax: (021) 2225 1199

Email: immigration.shanghai@dfat.gov.au

Consular & Passports Enquiries

Level 22 CITIC Square
1168 Nanjing Road West, 200041

Tel: (021) 2215 5200
Fax: (021) 2215 5252 

Email: consular.shanghai@dfat.gov.au

Commercial Enquiries - Austrade

Level 21 CITIC Square
1168 Nanjing Road West, 200041

Tel:  (021)  6103 5656
Fax: (021)  6321 1222

Email: china@austrade.gov.au

Study-in-Australia Enquiries

Refer to Study in Australia for contact details.

Opening hours

Consulate - CITIC Square

Consulate opening hours: 8:30 to 17:00 Monday to Friday.

For Passport applications: 9:00 - 12:00, 13:30 - 15:00 Monday to Friday.

For Notarial services: 15:00 -16:00 Monday to Friday.

Visa office - CITIC Square

See:  Visa and Immigration information

The Australian Consulate General in Shanghai will be observing the following public holidays for 2014:

Wednesday 1 January - New Year’s Day
Friday 31 January - Chinese Spring Festival
Monday 3 February - Chinese Spring Festival
Tuesday 4 February - Chinese Spring Festival
Friday 18 April - Good Friday
Monday 21 April - Easter Monday
Thursday 1 May - Labour Day
Monday 2 June - Dragon Boat Day
Wednesday 1 October - Chinese National Day
Thursday 2 October - Chinese National Day
Friday 3 October - Chinese National Day
Wednesday 24 December - Additional DFAT holiday
Thursday 25 December - Christmas Day
Friday 26 December - Boxing Day